Install Burg in Ubuntu

Introduction

BURG stands for Brand-new Universal loadeR from GRUB. It’s based on GRUB, and add features like new object format and configurable menu system. This page shows its usage.

Install using binary package

  • For Ubuntu 10.04 and 10.10 users, add the following PPA :
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:bean123ch/burg
  • For Ubuntu 11.04 users, add the following PPA :
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:n-muench/burg
  • Then use the following command to download and install the loader, themes and emulator:
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install burg
  • During the installation, it should ask you to write the new boot loader to MBR. If you skip that step, you can later use the following command to update MBR of hd0:
sudo burg-install "(hd0)"

or ( FIXME ??? burg-pc package does not exist ! )

sudo dpkg-reconfigure burg-pc

Reference : https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Burg

3 thoughts on “Install Burg in Ubuntu

  1. After study a number of of the blog posts in your website now, and I really like your approach of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site checklist and will probably be checking again soon. Pls check out my web page as well and let me know what you think.

  2. An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he in actual fact bought me breakfast because I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love studying more on this topic. If attainable, as you become experience, would you thoughts updating your blog with more particulars? It is extremely useful for me. Massive thumb up for this blog post!

Leave a Reply

